Francine Marz Headshot smallI’m a chef with a tremendous passion for culinary arts sparked by a culinary vocational class I took while I was a senior in high school. After winning a scholarship through Johnson & Wales University’s National High School Recipe Contest, I went on to complete an associate’s degree in Culinary Arts, an associate’s degree in in Baking & Pastry, and a bachelor’s degree in Food Service Management at the University. While in school, I worked for several fine dining establishments, served as a personal chef, interned at Walt Disney World, and did a sous chef internship in Dallas, Texas. After graduating magna cum laude, I worked my way around the country for various companies like Dean & Deluca, Marriott Hotels, and Compass Group, and ultimately became the executive chef for the Albuquerque Marriott Pyramid. A few years later, I landed a chef/instructor position at The Art Institute of Phoenix and eventually became the culinary director three years later. While working at the Art Institute of Phoenix, I coached the Junior ACF Hot Foods Competition Team and took several students to Shanghai and Austria to compete. In 2011, I graduated from Argosy University with a master’s degree in Business Administration with a concentration in International Business and Finance. Then in June of 2013, I joined with Montgomery County Community College as Director of The Culinary Arts Institute. In the past year, we opened a brand new culinary facility and started several new programs for both students and the community. For more information about The Culinary Arts Institute, please visit:http://www3.mc3.edu/culinary/.

