20140925_143239_resized_1[1]

At 1:50 p.m. we met in the lobby in our chef whites again and went back to the convention center. Then we went to the awards ceremony, where we sat with the Chinese and South Korean chefs. IMG_2249

When we were called to get our awards, the interpreters told us to go, because we could not understand the language.  As we walked onto the stage, everyone started clapping and the President of the China Hotel Association handed the plaques to us. When she got to me she recognized me, smiled and gave me a huge hug. She was so happy to see me and vice versa. The South Korean president also walked over to me to give me a hug.

After the award ceremony was done, the South Korean team came over to me and greeted me. Then they started taking pictures with me, and as I tried to leave, other people started jumping in wanting to get a picture with me. The rest of my peers were laughing, and so I started laughing as they kept grabbing me and placing me in the middle of their pictures. I finally was done taking pictures and then we started to leave.

As I was leaving I met the president of the South Korean chapter, and we exchanged business cards. Then, she asked me to take more pictures with her team. I finally finished up with them and caught up with the rest of the group. The first load of people already left so while we were waiting for the van to return, the South Korean president came outside. I waved to her, and then she came over wanting to take more pictures with the Americans. It was such a funny sight as we all yelled Kim Chee instead of yelling cheese for each picture! Who knows what might come of this since she is not only the president of the Korean Food Association, but she is also the Director of the Korean International Culinary Institute. Our van arrived and we headed back to our hotel.

20140925_164400_resized_1

 

When as we got back to the hotel, three of us wanted to venture off to Carrefour. This is the French version of a Wal-Mart supercenter. We found one that looked close to our hotel. They wanted to walk it, but I did not feel like getting lost in Wuhan again, so we took a cab. Driving in China takes talent since the road is filled with buses, cars, scooters, bikes and, oh yeah, pedestrians! Cars will change lanes without notice or they will drift into your lane for no reason. Then you have the scooters that travel much slower and the cars go around them. It is total chaos and you have to have your guard up every second you are behind the wheel. So being a passenger in a taxi, is like being on a roller coaster, because you never know what lurks behind the next corner!

After a short, yet very scary drive we made it to Carrefour. Carrefour is the preferred store for the Chinese so there are a lot more local goods. This Carrefour had a variety of tea, dishes, random beverages, bagged chicken feet and whatever else your heart desired! We took over an hour to explore the two levels and purchase our goods.

